The Nine Types of Principal Investigators by Alexander Dent

The Nine Types of Principal Investigators by Alexander Dent

This wonderful cartoon encapsulates the number of principal investigators into a mere nine personalities.

My first P.I. was a science wonk. He was really cool and downright awesome. He had a black belt in karate and did yoga on the Himalayas. And he had a great work ethic, balancing lab work and personal life seamlessly. To top it off, he was featured on NUM3RS and has published popular fluid dynamics textbooks.

My second P.I. was WAY TOO LAID-BACK. He was a real family man and I learned more about his kids than I did about cell and tissue culture techniques. He did get me single malt whiskey from Scotland and was a really great guy so I can’t complain too much about him.

My third P.I. is a Demi God. Even though he is very busy, he takes us all surprisingly (is that right?) seriously. We have group lab meetings every week, sometimes even twice a week. In addition, we have those rare individual meetings that are super nerve-wracking and fixed on very short notice. Nonetheless, he is awesome.

So, how would you classify your P.I.?

Leave a Reply

